//
you're reading...
How To Guides

Tips for Tagging

If you’re already selling online then you probably have a pretty good grasp on tagging your products to attract the perfect buyers. In my opinion, after word of mouth and marketing it’s a super important priority to get right. It’s more important when you are selling from a third party shop like Etsy or Artfire because this is how people are finding you. Search engines do their best to connect potential buyers to the right products BUT they rely on you to supply relevant information or the system fails.  Simple concept.

If your friend recommends an awesome car dealership after a conversation you two shared about wanting a cherry red 2-door sports car and you get there and all the salesmen shows you are brown 4-door minivans…well you’re not going to be sticking around THAT shop too long. Chances are, that negative experience will lock into your brain and the next time you’re in the market you won’t stop there again.  Now, not every single person that may come across your website or shop is going to be into what you have for sale,  that’s a given, but what good is 1,000 views if the searches are leading customers to a dead end that’s irrelevant to their desire. It’s not good, not at all. Sure, there’s a chance they will see something they like and save your shop for later but at what cost? So tagging is important.

You want to make sure that your tags are relevant and well thought out. Thankfully, the guys over at Google have blessed us with a great little gem, the Adwords Keyword Tool which helps tremendously with real data from the most popular search engine in the world. I am FAR from a SEO expert but I’m learning and sharing as I go. To get started I’ve come up with a tagging method that I’m experimenting with using a 10 keyword system. Since I sell photography, my tagging method is based around that but can be applied to most things, with little to no modification.

Item. What is it that you are producing? This one is easy. For me, it’s generally prints and posters. Think about what you would type if you were looking for this particular  item.

Style. How you would you describe it?  Is it dreamy, or abstract? How about surreal or dark? Did you use a certain technique?  Take a few minutes and brainstorm about the general feel of your work.

Theme. What is the over all theme?   A theme describes the setting or ambience of something. Is it tropical or will musicians enjoy it?

Size. What size is it? Quite possibly the easiest tag to figure out. Be exact in your measurements.

Color. What is the dominate color? Not every piece of work is going to be a solid color but for someone searching for the perfect color for their decor, it could make all the difference.

Color. What is the second dominate color?  I feel color is very important..so if you have a second dominating color, list it. When searching for gifts, or decor I want to make it personal for that person or my space. I usually narrow down a search for a particular color or pattern and I assume others do to.

Subject. What is the subject? This is not the same as the theme. The subject is the main focus of the image. Is it the ferris wheel at the carnival, the clouds in the sky? The more specific you are the better results you will yield.

Style: What kind is it?  Is the print matted or framed? I already use one style tag in my list but often thats not enough. Since I’ve learned it’s better to use one word tags instead of phrases, it often comes in handy.

Material: What is is made from?  Is it film or digital? Did you shoot using a vintage camera? You never know if someone collections prints from “X BRAND” camera. Polaroid prints, because they are one-of-a-kind from the camera or manipulated, are highly collectable.

Who: Who made it? To further attempt to brand my name I usually dedicate one tag in all of my listings to name myself, my website, or one of the various teams I’m apart of on Etsy. When someone Googles “Jennifer Jackson” I want them to be able to find my work fast.

So there you have it, and I even wrapped it up with a big red ribbon. This is the method I am sticking to for now, and as I go along the way and learn more, I’m sure it will change as does most things. Feel free to give it a spin and let me know how it works out for you!

I snagged one of my posters currently for sale in my Etsy Shop so you can see it in action using my current tagging method. This photo was made at a Japanese Garden, one of my favorites in my current collection.

Item. What is it that you are producing?  Poster

Style. How you would you describe it?  Surreal

Theme. What is the over all theme?   Zen

Size. What size is it?  20" x 30"

Color. What is the dominate color? Gray

Color. What is the second dominate color? Black

Subject. What is the subject? Reflection

Style: What kind is it? Decor

Material: What is is made from?  Digital

Who: Who made it? www.pixelgrin.com
About PixelGrin

Photography. Punk Rock. Art. Travel.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Hi Hello I'm Jennifer Jackson. ...and the world is my oyster...

Categories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 22,654 visitors
